Diet

Staple Quiche

Ah, Quiche! Such a well-rounded dish! It has protein, carbs, fat; you can eat it for any meal; it’s easy to see when it’s done; it’s relatively inexpensive; and once you have a “base recipe”, the options are endless. Can you tell that I like quiche?

And for clarification, I am talking about egg quiche because there are different kinds and they don’t count for this. I just wanted to get that out of the way!

Since I’ve been counting calories and macros, my love for the eggy pie has grown exponentially. I love that it’s versatile and can be lightened up so easily! My favourite “diet” quiche is crust-free, made with milk and lighter cheese, and doesn’t have flour. No, I’m not gluten-free, but I just prefer it less starchy.

So here’s my recipe for easy, crustless quiche:

  • 8 eggs (Sometimes, I do a mix of egg whites and full eggs)
  • 1/3 cup of milk (anything from 1% – 3.5% works, or cream if you’re looking for some extra fat)
  • 1 small shallot, chopped
  • 2 ounces of light cheese (this changes depending on what theme you quiche is, but more on that below)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • olive oil cooking spray, for your dish
  1. Set your oven to 375 F.
  2. Break eggs into your mixing bowl, add milk, salt, and pepper, and whisk together.
  3. Spray your dish (I like using a clear glass pie dish) with your olive oil spray.
  4. Chop your shallot finely and sprinkle in the pie dish.
  5. Grate your cheese and add to the pie dish.
  6. Pour egg mixture over top, stir a little–I swirl it around with a fork a couple of times–and place in the oven.
  7. Cook until the mixture rises and browns on top. A toothpick or skewer inserted into the centre should come out dry, like when you’re baking a cake.
  8. Remove from oven, cut into four slices, and serve.
Crustless Quiche
Base quiche with spinach, yellow peppers, and Tex Mex cheese

This recipe is delicious plain, but there are so many options for variations! A few of my favourites:

  • Add chicken, cooked spinach, and shredded gouda for a sort of florentine-style quiche.
  • Add chopped peppers, jalapeno cheddar cheese, cooked corn, and taco seasoning for a tex mex option.
  • Try mozzarella, sundried tomatoes, and pepperoni for a pizza quiche.
  • Broccoli and cheddar is also a great combination.

Sometimes, I just throw in whatever vegetables and cooked proteins I have sitting in my fridge. Less fancy, but still delicious. I’ve been working to keep it low carb so I’ve been loading up on veggies to fill out my quiche.

I literally have quiche every week. It’s always in rotation on my menu. It usually sits around 200-250 calories for a serving and I almost always have it with ketchup. It can be a great make-ahead meal which yields great leftovers or a perfect dinner for #meatlessMonday or it’s a wonderful dish to make for brunches and potlucks. Feel free to add in a pre-made crust if you’re looking for something a bit more decadent.

Do you have a go-to food like quiche? What’s your favourite variation? Comment below.

Thanks for reading,

Kathryn

Leave a Reply

