Diet

No Meal Prep for this Week and a Recipe for You!

Hey everyone! I hope you’re having a wonderful Sunday! I’m having a bit of a lazy day as I’m not prepping for the upcoming week. Why? you ask. Because I will be an aunt again tomorrow morning when my sister-in-law has her c-section! I’m so incredibly excited to welcome another little one in my family. I can’t even put into words what it means to me to have a nephew, I can’t imagine what it will be like to add a little girl or another boy.

All of that being said, I’ll be housesitting for my brother and his wife while they’re at the hospital so I’m going to be less able to prep and keep to my schedule. Last night I crossed the border into the US to get a few essentials like Trader Joe’s Chicken Soup Dumplings, Trader Joe’s Curry Chicken Salad, and an embarrassing amount of Halo Top ice cream. All safe, quick things to eat that won’t compromise my eating. I am sorry that I won’t get to share a meal plan with you this week, but I did make some awesome Skinny Pad Thai tonight and I’ll leave that recipe below. Just be warned, it’s not even close to authentic. If you do make it, please comment below and let me know what you think.

Skinny Pad Thai

Peanut Sauce:

3 tbsp Low-Sodium Soy Sauce

1 tsp Sriracha Sauce, or to taste

2 tbsp Hoisin Sauce

2 tbsp PB2*, or light Peanut Butter

3 tbsp warm water

You can play around with this sauce to get the consistency and spice you like.

Stir Fry:

8 oz boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into small pieces

1 large egg

1 container of broccoli slaw

2 containers of Shirataki noodles**

salt and pepper, to taste

cooking spray

Instructions:

  1. Take noodles out of package, drain and rinse very well until they don’t smell like anything. Set aside to dry.
  2. Lightly coat a non-stick pan with cooking spray and place over medium high heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper and cook until there is no pink in the middle. Set aside.
  3. Whisk egg in a bowl and scramble in the same pan as chicken and then set aside with chicken.
  4. Add a little more spray to pan and cook shirataki noodles over medium heat until dry. This helps remove that smell/taste.
  5. Add chicken, egg, and broccoli slaw to the pan. Mix it all together. While it’s heating, mix all of your sauce ingredients until smooth. Add to stir fry and toss until everything is coated. Remove from heat and serve. ***

16122909_565456706993583_2528431626359144448_n1

*PB2 is powdered peanut butter and it’s a great, low calorie way to thicken sauces.

**If you’ve ever tried Shirataki noodles, you know that they’re a little…shall we say, unique. They’re amazing in that they’re almost zero calories and low carb, but they’re annoying because the calcium liquid they preserve them in is awful! You have to wash them a lot and then “dry” them in a pan until that fishy smell goes away. Also, the texture is a little different, but it’s not hard to get used to them. If you’re having trouble, check out youtube. Lot’s of people make great videos about how to cook them.

***I sprinkled a couple unsalted peanuts on top for fun and flavor.

Nutritional Information:

Servings: 4, Calories per serving: 140, Fat:  3 g, Carbohydrates: 13 g, Dietary Fibre: 5 g, Sugar: 5 g, Protein: 15 g

Enjoy!

Thanks for reading,

Kathryn

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

