Diet

Meal Plan January 23-27, 2017

January generally sucks. I hope I’m not the only one who feels that way. I don’t think I am. Not only is it usually a cold, grey, slushy month, but we’re still in a holiday hangover (from yummy food, down time, and lots of social activities). The media is telling us it’s time to kick all of our nasty habits, lose weight, change careers, and empty our homes in a bid to be “minimalist”–whatever that means. On top of that the US is dealing with Trump’s presidency (not being political, but my god, he scares me) and the rest of us are watching, protesting, and praying it won’t affect us.

5ccacd00-1ae8-4a14-b670-6abcb8e9b2ec
Via AllisonPataki.com

It’s pretty easy to get discouraged with all of this going on. I know that when I get discouraged, I tend to reach for food and it’s not usually steamed kale and dry chicken. It’s usually cheese and carbohydrates and cheese. Having a meal plan and only keeping good food in the house is very helpful, but sometimes our friends and family aren’t. It’s all about making choices and being able to live. I had a pizza from Mod Pizza in Bellingham during a cross-boarder shopping trip this past weekend. I enjoyed it, logged it, and moved on. No harm, no foul. It didn’t ruin my weekend and it curbed my craving for pizza. Maybe I’m too proud of it, but it felt like a big accomplishment because it wasn’t about me feeling sad and filling a void with food. It was about me wanting pizza and having it.

mod-pizza1024xx960-541-0-73
Via Media.biz.us

Speaking of pizza, I’ve been looking into “carb cycling” on the recommendation of my gym partner/brother. I’m not totally sure about the subject yet, but it’s something I think might be beneficial at the moment. When I’m not eating many carbs, I start to feel kind of down after a few days. Having a normal carb like bread or pasta (in moderation) can give my body a boost of energy which keeps me going until the next time. I’ll try and write about my experiences with it in the next few weeks.

Now, on with the meal plan! As always, I don’t include meals after Monday that don’t change. You’ll notice that I’m rotating snacks and lunches this week. I’m trying to keep myself interested.

Monday:

Breakfast: Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie 222 calories

AM Snack: Egg White Egg Salad on Cucumber Slices 80 calories

Lunch: Trader Joe’s Guilt-Reduced Chicken Salad with Trader Joe’s Savory Thins, Carrots, and Amooza String Cheese 315 calories

Dinner: Skinny Chicken Pesto Bake with Zoodles 215 calories

PM Snack: Rotating snacks: Halo Top Ice Cream, Popcorn, Instant Oatmeal

Tuesday:

Lunch: Turkey Wrap 365 calories *It’s the fourth one on the list.

Dinner:  Crispy Baked Tofu with Brown Rice and Stir Fry Veggies 375 calories

Wednesday:

Dinner: Chicken Cacciatore over High-Fibre Spaghetti 320 calories

Extra Protein Snack: Amooza String Cheese with Naan and Hummus 220 calories

Thursday:

Dinner: One Skillet Chicken and Green Beans 211 calories

Friday:

Dinner: Garlic Roast Beef with Jus and Skinny Parmesan Garlic Fries 385 calories

You’ll notice that I’m eating a lot of chicken this week. The reason for this is that I just didn’t see it when I was putting my meal plan together. Oh well, chicken it is!

chicken-011
Via NowIKnow.com

Also I’m trying a new brand of protein powder this week. It’s whey protein, comes in cool flavours, and is about $1/serving. Oh, and the icing on the protein cake is that each serving only has one gram of carbohydrates. I’m trying it tomorrow for the first time and I’ll see how I feel with it this week before I give it my full support.

How is your January going? What are you doing to combat emotional eating? Do you have any tricks? Comment below!

Thanks for reading,

Kathryn

Leave a Reply

