Diet

January 3-6, 2017 Meal Plan Review

Hey everyone!

How was your first full week of 2017? Did you do well with your goals?

Mine was actually really good! I was still sick so I just focused on diet and meal prep for the first few days. When I did get back to the gym, I felt strong in my resolve and I didn’t go home and eat a ton to compensate for the workout. I had a protein shake or a protein-filled snack (like veggies with hummus or cheese) after each. I also got some exciting news on Wednesday that really helped to keep me on track all week. I can’t share it yet, but I’m using it to hold me accountable. It was also great to have my friends on my Instagram fitness account to inspire one another!

I thought I would review last week’s meal plan to talk about what I liked and what worked especially well. I promise to do my very best to keep this brief!

Without further ado:

Breakfast Toasts (Every Day)

15801880_1710885955869982_7489777190121242624_n1Pros: These were really good! They were filling, satisfying, and a perfect way to start my day!

Cons: There really weren’t many drawbacks to this breakfast, other than it took a few minutes to make and I really couldn’t prep it.

Eat it Again? Definitely!

Spiralized Summer Roll Bowls with Hoisin Peanut Sauce (Every Day)

15876439_158902381262499_8278271797699280896_nPros: Crunchy, filling, peanut-y, tasty, protein-filled, and perfect! These prepped really well and satisfied my need for noodles with the spiralized carrots and cucumber. Bonus points for being something I could eat with chopsticks!

Cons: These have to be eaten cold. That wasn’t a problem for me, but if you’re looking for a warm winter lunch, this isn’t it.

Eat it Again? I would eat this for lunch every day if I thought I could get away with it.

Eggs Pizziola (Tuesday Dinner)

Pros: These are a great vegetarian and low carb option. The cheese and runny egg yolk were so rich without costing me too many calories.

Cons: These are pretty easy to overcook. I ended up cooking a couple of the eggs past soft poached. I also found that the sauce wasn’t thick enough.

Eat it Again? Probably, though I would work on the recipe a little to get it to my liking.

Asian Chicken Lettuce Wrap Chopped Salad (Wednesday Dinner)

Pros: This salad was great! It was just like an actual lettuce wrap, but much easier to eat. It was also pretty quick to put together.

Cons: The texture of this salad was different. The ground chicken mixture didn’t mesh super well with the lettuces.

Eat it Again? Yes! Even with the texture issue, this was really filling and fresh tasting.

Steak and Caramelized Onions with Arugula and Penne (Friday Dinner)

15876495_1620715044901793_3484056575499304960_nPros: This was one of the most flavourful things I made all week! There were lots of layers of flavour from the balsamic vinegar to the peppery arugula and nutty parmesan cheese. It also satisfied my need for red meat and pasta in one go. It was surprisingly easy to find the quinoa amaranth penne and it tasted just like real pasta.

Cons: This is definitely a recipe to skip if you don’t like balsamic vinegar because it was pretty prevalent. The onions also took about 35 minutes to caramelize and cook properly so this wasn’t quick. The arugula is strong so if that isn’t a flavour you enjoy, I don’t know if you’ll enjoy this.

Eat it Again? Probably. I didn’t dislike this salad; I just wasn’t as happy with it as I was with my other recipes.

Snacks (Every Day)

15538339_1629115444060075_6300551920394174464_nPros: So I ended up making a different snack most days. I didn’t enjoy the celery enough to eat it every day. I replaced it with cucumber and that was delicious. These Amooza (Kraft) cheese sticks are so good–they actually taste like cheese! It was nice to mix things up this week.

Cons: Because I didn’t prep my snacks, I had to fight myself a little bit more to eat good food. That was my own fault. Variety is definitely missing from this week.

Eat it Again? Yes, for sure! I would just do it a little differently next time.

Some Notes About this Meal Plan and my Week:

So you might notice that I didn’t eat my Garlic Shrimp and Julienned Summer Vegetables this week. We ended up going to a family friend’s house for dinner where we had yummy lasagna and salad. It made my day a bit tight, calorie-wise, but I made it work. I bought frozen shrimp so they didn’t go to waste. I’ll find a place for that meal somewhere soon.

I didn’t prep as much for this week as I would have liked, but I made sure to plan next week for recipes with which I could do that more. It makes me stay on track!

I didn’t prep for the weekend at all because I really want to force myself to make good choices on the weekend and because it’s so hard to plan for. I ended up at a country concert in Vancouver on Saturday so there was more alcohol than I would have planned for, though I did sneak in a few workouts that day.

If you have any opinions or ideas about what I’ve said, please comment below! I love hearing how others handle meal planning.

Thanks for reading,

Kathryn

Leave a Reply

